logo Leadership

Robert E. Currie- DOCA President 2012-2014

Robert E. Currie was born on October 10, 1937 in Jackson, Tennessee.  He attended the United States Naval Academy (Class of 1959) and Harvard Law School (Class of 1967).

He served in the U.S. Navy as a Naval Aviator and Intelligence Officer.  In 1967 he began a long career with the law firm of Latham & Watkins, specializing in complex commercial litigation, (e.g. antitrust), securities fraud defense, merger and acquisition challenges and other corporate matters.

Bob is currently a member of the American College of Trial Lawyers, the Foundation for the Orange County Great Park, the Board of Visitors of the Chapman University School of Law, the Pacific Club and the Big Canyon Country Club.  He has previously served as President and member of the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club, Chairman of the Dean’s Council and an adjunct professor at Chapman University School of Law, and a member of the El Viento Foundation Board and the Boy Scouts of America Orange County Council Board.

Bob joined DOCA in 2003 and has served as a Director and Regional Vice President prior to becoming DOCA’s President in 2012.

Bob and his wife Brenda live in Newport Beach, California.  They have three grown children and nine grandchildren.


Frank M. Weinberg – DOCA Chairman 2012-2014

Frank M. Weinberg was born on May 17, 1943 in New York City.  He grew up and attended High School in White Plains, NY, a suburb of New York City.  He received a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering from the New Jersey Institute of Technology and joined Caterpillar Inc. in 1966.

He served in the United States Army from 1967 until 1971.  After commissioning from Officer Candidate School, he served in the United States and in Vietnam in a variety of Army Engineer Units as well as in the Army Reserve in a transportation company.

He worked in a variety of marketing, sales and product development positions during the first half of his Caterpillar career and in 1986 moved to Cat’s Defense & Federal Products Business Unit.  In 1994, he became its General Manager, a position that he held until his retirement from Caterpillar in 2006.  The Defense & Federal Products Business Unit is a multi disciplinary unit that had responsibility for Caterpillar’s business with the United States government and for military business with other countries around the world.  This included research & development, product development and sales as well as complete after sale parts and service support.

During his employment with Caterpillar, he was a member of the Navy League and the Society of American Military Engineers.

Frank has served as a Board Member of the National Defense Industrial Association (NDIA) and as a Board Member and President of the Army Engineer Association.  He is currently President ex Officio and a member of the Board of the Army Engineer Association.  He is also a member of the Association of the United States Army (AUSA) and the National Defense Industrial Association (NDIA).

Frank joined DOCA in 1995 and has served as a Director and Vice President prior to becoming DOCA’s President in 2010.

Frank and his wife Beth live in Naples, Florida.  They have two married children and four grandchildren.



President – Robert E. Currie (03)
Executive VP/Chief Operating Officer – David W. Morris (05)
Vice President Region I – David J. Kaplan (06)
Vice President Region II – Laree A. Mugler (03)
Vice President Region III – Bernd A. Schulte (05)
Vice President Region IV – Richard L. Davis (06)
Vice President Region V – Vicki E. Churchward (07)
Vice President Region VI – Thomas T. Tierney (08)
Vice President at Large – C. Michael Shyne (94)
Vice President at Large – William D. Fletcher (07)
Vice President at Large – Rebecca J. Smith (99)
Secretary/Treasurer – J. Tucker Marston (83)

Board of Directors
Chairman of the Board – Frank M. Weinberg (95)
Immediate Past Chairman – Peter L. Carter (93)

D. G. Bickle (86)
W. A. Briggs, Jr. (95)
J. M. Buchanan (90)
E. C. Bursk, Jr. (12)
L. Bustad (08)
F. R. Caccamo (06)
T. P. Ellis (08)
J. D. Engelland (06)
J. E. Finn (96)
G. Gray (92)
W. D. Hamill (96)
L. E. Henninger (09)
K. R. Himes (07)
T. J. Kane (10)
J. L. Kenley (99)
D. W. Lawrence (06)
C. Lien (04)
C. H. Lien (64)
W. M. Matthews (82)
J. J. Moore (00)
R. P. Mosier (09)
J. A. Mudd (07)
D. A. Nagler (05)
J. W. Ohlsen (85)
S. H. Peacock (79)
C. D. Presley (12)
D. J. Regan (05)
J. F. Schneider (11)
J. R. Stahr (95)
R. D. Teer, Jr. (89)
J. K. Thompson (81)
C. N. Wilcher, Jr. (81)